Women make up the majority of the board of directors in KLAK

Klak – Icelandic Startups held the first Annual General Meeting of the Board of Directors after a name change on 12 April in the home Klak in Gróska. Control KLAK reviewed the last operating year of 2021, which was characterized by challenging pandemic conditions. The projects became many and varied and were at once inspiring and constructive. 

New elected board of directors Klak – Icelandic Startups took office at the Annual General Meeting, while Soffía Kristín Þórðardóttir, nominated by Origo, took over as Chairman of the Board Klak – Icelandic Startups. Soffía succeeds Huld Magnúsdóttir from the New Business Venture Fund. Eyjólfur Ingi Ásgeirsson took his place as the new chief and Ragnhildur Helgadóttir took a seat as an alternate. Both were nominated by HR, but the board is appointed by the owners of the company. It is a sign of the changing status of women in the innovation world that women make up the majority of the board.

Ari Kristinn Jónsson, Rector of HR, retires from the Board of Directors Klak after 12 years as a member of the Board of Directors. In addition to having served as a member of the Board of Directors Klak Ari has worked closely with Icelandic entrepreneurs and shoots in many demanding accelerators and projects and established himself as one of the key players in the support environment for innovation in Iceland. He was involved in many challenging projects related to the company during those years, including the merger Klak and Innovit in 2013 under the name Klak Innovit, which was a milestone on the entrepreneurial scene in Iceland. The final phase of the merged company occurred in 2016 when Klak Innovit was named Icelandic Startups.

The board decided in the operating year 2021 to search the roots and adopted the old name Klak And now it's called. Klak – Icelandic Startups or KLAK in everyday speech.

Nominees and alternates appointed at the Annual General Meeting KLAK- Icelandic Startups by the owners:

Chairman of the Board
Soffía Kristín Þórðardóttir nominated by Origo

Vice Chairman
Ólöf Vigdís Ragnarsdóttir nominated by the University of Iceland

Leading men

Eyjólfur Ingi Ásgeirsson nominated by Reykjavík University

Huld Magnúsdóttir appointed by the Icelandic Innovation Fund

Sigríður Mogensen nominated by the Federation of Icelandic Industries


Jón Björnsson nominated by Origo

Ragnhildur Helgadóttir nominated by Reykjavik University

Magnús Þór Torfason appointed by the University of Iceland

Sæmundur Finnbogason appointed by the Icelandic Innovation Fund

Sigurður Hannesson nominated by Samtaka industry