Women make up the majority of the board in KLAK

Klak – Icelandic Startups held the first general meeting of the board after the name change on April 12 in Klak's hometown in Gróska. KLAK's board reviewed the last working year of 2021, which was characterized by challenging conditions caused by the pandemic. The projects were many and varied, which were both inspiring and constructive. 

The newly elected board of Klak - Icelandic Startups took office at the annual meeting, while Soffía Kristín Þórðardóttir, nominated by Origo, took over as chairman of the board of Klak - Icelandic Startups. Soffía takes over from Huld Magnúsdóttir from the Business Innovation Fund. Eyjólfur Ingi Ásgeirsson took a seat as the new main member and Ragnhildur Helgadóttir took a seat as a substitute. Both were nominated by HR, but the board is nominated by the owners of the company. It is a sign of the changing status of women in the innovation world that women make up the majority of the board.

Ari Kristinn Jónsson, rector of HR, is stepping down from Klak's board after 12 years as the main member of the board. In addition to having served as a key member of Klak's board, Ari has worked closely with Icelandic entrepreneurs and start-ups in many challenging accelerators and projects and has established himself as one of the key players in the support environment for innovation in Iceland. He was responsible for many challenging projects related to the company during these years, and among other things he brought about the merger of Klak and Innovit in 2013 under the name Klak Innovit, but that merger marked a turning point in the entrepreneurial scene in Iceland. The final phase of the combined company took place in 2016 when Klak Innovit was named Icelandic Startups.

The board decided in the working year 2021 to look for the roots and adopted the old name Klak and its current name. Klak – Icelandic Startups or KLAK in everyday speech.

Principals and alternates nominated at the general meeting of KLAK-Icelandic Startups by the owners:

Chairman of the board
Soffía Kristín Þórðardóttir inspired by Origo

Deputy Chairman
Ólöf Vigdís Ragnarsdóttir dedicated by the University of Iceland


Eyjólfur Ingi Ásgeirsson named after Reykjavík University

Huld Magnúsdóttir on the occasion of the Employment Innovation Fund

Sigríður Mogensen celebrated by the Swedish Industry Association


Jón Björnsson inspired by Origo

Ragnhildur Helgadóttir dedicated by the University of Reykjavík

Magnús Þór Torfason dedicated by the University of Iceland

Sæmundur Finnbogason dedicated by the Norwegian Innovation Fund

Sigurður Hannesson is dedicated to Samstäkır industriens